Control who can add you to groups
Overview
Groups are a great way to communicate with your family, friends, and colleagues. However, getting added to a new group every day can get very frustrating. We know.
To help you better manage your chats, you can now prevent people that aren't on your contact list from adding you to groups.
Privacy setup and controls
Control who can add you to groups by changing your privacy settings:
- Open Viber on your mobile phone (this setting is not available on tablets and desktops)
- Tap on More
- Tap on Settings
- Tap on Privacy
- Tap on Control who can add you to groups
- Choose Anyone* or My contacts**
*Anyone: anyone using Viber will be able to add you to a group.
**My contacts: only the people saved in your contact list will be able to add you to a group.
What to expect in group chats
When your group privacy is set to Anyone, you can be added to a group by someone who isn’t on your contact list.
You will see several options before entering the group, including adding the person who invited you to your contact list, blocking them, and changing your privacy settings.
Select My contacts if you no longer want to be added to groups by people that aren’t on your contact list.*
*You will not be notified if a person who isn’t on your contact list tries to add you to a group.
You can join a group call with people that aren’t on your contact list.
If your privacy setting only allows contacts to add you to groups, you will not see messages from non-contacts sent during a group call in the group chat.
To see all messages sent during a group call, you can either change your privacy settings or add everyone on the call to your contact list.
Member restrictions and anti-spam
Viber allows users to decide if they want to be added to groups by people that aren’t in their contact list.
You will receive an alert advising you that the person couldn’t be added to your group due to their privacy settings if you try to add someone and you are not on their contact list.
If you attempt to create a group where all members have this privacy setting, the group will not be created.