As a valued user of Viber, it is important for us to protect you and your privacy.
This article explains the various technologies that we use to protect your private information and what you can do to stay safe on our platform.
- We use end-to-end encryption technology for all your 1-on-1 and group chats.
- 1-on-1 and group messages are deleted off our servers as soon as they are delivered.
- We won’t sell your conversations to third parties (because we can’t see them!).
- You can edit or delete your messages (for everyone) at any time.
- Add a timer to your messages so that they auto-delete, with the disappearing messages feature.
- You will be notified if a screenshot of a disappearing message was taken.
- Hide your chats from your main chat screen.
- Hidden chats are password protected.
- Update your settings to allow only your contacts to add you to groups.
Channels and Communities
- Other members can’t see your phone number.
- Admins can use an alias to protect their identity.
- Admins can ban members that don’t obey the rules or are deemed dangerous.
- Admins can change the invite link at any time if they lose track of it.
- You can block anyone on Viber from contacting you
- Once blocked, the user won’t see your ‘online’ status or be able to add you to a group.
- You can unblock anyone on your blocklist at any time.
Spam and fraud
- We use numerous technologies to detect spammers and fraudsters.
- Users suspected of spamming and fraud will be blocked.
- Calls from phone numbers not saved in your contact list can be automatically silenced (available only on Android).
- You can block and report anyone that you suspect of being a spammer or fraudster.
- Turn on the auto spam check to allow us to scan messages, sent from people not in your contact list, for malicious content.
- Terms of Service
- Spam and Chain Messages
- How to Report Inappropriate Content
- Viber Desktop Settings and App Version
- Make sure that only you can make changes to your Viber account by setting up a PIN.
- Your PIN will also be required when activating Viber on a different phone, so no one will be able to steal your account unless they know your PIN.
- If your PIN is entered incorrectly, certain parts of your account will be blocked.
- Viber on your desktop can be locked: the chat screen won’t be available and notifications won’t be shown.
- To unlock, you will need to enter a password.
Control what information other Viber users can see about you, including:
- Your ‘online’ status.
- Message ‘seen’ status.
- Your profile photo.
- Your birthday (contacts will be notified on your birthday).
To change settings:
- Open Viber on your Phone
- Tap on More
- Tap on Settings
- Tap on Privacy
- Update your preferences
- We need access to certain parts of your phone’s operating system so that Viber can work, i.e., the ‘microphone’ for you to make calls.
- You can change the permissions at any time.
- You can review and delete your data file at any time.
- To help keep Viber free, we will show you ads.
- Ads are based on the limited information we collect about you, such as your location and the Communities/Channels you joined.
- We also use several tracking technologies that help us show you relevant and interesting content.
- Users under 16 will not be shown content (such as ads and stickers) intended for a mature audience.
- Minors can’t change privacy settings that automatically block content personalization and data collection.
- If you see a Community or Channel that contains inappropriate/illegal content regarding minors, report them to us so that we can take action.
- If you lost your phone but still have your SIM card, download Viber on your new phone with the same phone number to deactivate Viber on your old phone.
- Viber on your desktop can be deactivated either from your desktop or remotely, using your phone.
- Deactivate your Viber account to delete your data from our servers and permanently close your account.