Start a group voice or video call on desktop
Overview
Call a group of friends, family, or colleagues from your desktop using Viber. See everyone in grid view, share your screen, send messages, and more!
Start and join a group call
To start a call with people in an existing group:
- Open Viber on your desktop
- In the Chats
menu, select the group you want to call
- Click on either the Audio
or Video
call button
- Select up to 59 members of the group to join the call
- Click Start call
*If the group has less than 59 members, everyone will automatically be selected. Click on the Checkmark next to the name of a person you don't want in the call. Members who are not selected to be part of the call will not be notified that a call was made.
To start a call with people who are not part of an existing group:
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on Compose
next to the Search
bar
- Click on New group
- Select the people you want to call
- Click on either the Audio
or Video
call button to create a group and start the call
A call from members of a single group will be displayed using the group's name.
If your call is from people who don't have a group in common, you will see the name of the call initiator and the number of other participants in the call.
Yes. If the call is still active, you will see it in your Chats menu. Click on the chat to rejoin with video or just audio.
Manage participants
You can have up to 60 participants in a group call (59 plus you).
To add another person(s) to your call:
- Click on the person(s) in your contact list you want to add to the call
- Drag the person(s) into the call screen and release
- Repeat with up to 59 people if desired
OR
- Click on Participants in the control panel: the information bar will open on the right and your contact list will be displayed
- Click Add and select up to 59 people to be in your call
- Finish by clicking Add to call
People who muted their microphone will have a Mute icon next to their name; otherwise you, will see a Green bar.
Manage your call view and settings
If your camera is on, you will see a video of yourself during the call. Although you can't hide self-view, you can change the screen size by clicking and dragging the corners when you are in Speaker view.
To reposition the screen, click on and drag your video to another place.
Yes, you can view only a specific person by pinning their video to your screen. This means that you will still be able to hear the other participants, but you won't see them.
To pin a video:
Double click on the image of the person OR click on Participants in the control panel and then on Pin
next to the person's name.
To unpin a video (return to speaker or grid view):
Double click on your screen OR click on Participants in the control panel and then on Unpin
next to the person's name.
When you start a group video call, you will automatically see everyone in the call with the Grid view. To only see the person speaking, click on Speaker view (top right corner). To see everyone again, click on Grid view (top right corner).
You can share your screen with other call participants by clicking on Share screen in the control panel. To stop sharing, click the now green Share screen button.
To send a message to all participants during your call, click on Group chat in the control panel.
If you are the first person to write a message during the call, you will see a Create chat button instead.
You can also send a message to an individual participant by clicking on Participants in the control panel. Once the information bar opens up, hover over the picture of the person you want to send a message to and click once you see the Chat button.
Discover the control panel
The control panel will be available throughout the call at the bottom of your screen.
Click on Menu to find the following options:
Enable blur: blurs your background for this call. Click the option again to remove blur (only available on Mac.)
Call settings: test and adjust your microphone and camera settings.
Help: brings you to this article.