How to use My notes
Overview
My Notes is a dedicated chat space that’s just for you. Forward any message to save it, write yourself notes, check off tasks when you complete them, and set reminders in one place.
The basics
Like all chats on Viber, notes will automatically be synced across all of your devices. This allows you to easily transfer files, photos, and other media items between your phone and desktop / tablet.
For example, you can forward a photo to your notes chat on your phone and open it on your desktop. Similarly, you can upload a file from your desktop to your notes chat and open the file on your phone.
Notes work like any other chat on Viber. You can:
- Edit notes (even if they’re from another chat)
- Keep photos, GIFs, stickers, videos, and voice notes
- Upload files
- Forward messages* to and from the notes chat
- Pin a note to the top of the chat
- Search in the chat
For more information on how to use chat features on Viber, take a look at our Chat knowledge base.
*Notes will always be at the top of your contacts list when you try to forward a message.
Once a forwarded message is in your notes chat, you’ll see a From banner signifying the message's source (unless it was sent from a hidden chat). If you tap / click on the banner in your notes chat, you will be redirected back to the original message.
To change the name of the Notes chat:
Phone
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on Chats
- Tap on My Notes
- Tap the three dots
(Android) and then Chat info
or My notes (iOS) at the top of the screen
- Tap on the Pen
icon
- Type in a new name for your notes
- Tap Save (Android) or Done (iOS)
Desktop
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on your profile picture next to the Search
field
- Click on My Notes
- Click on the Info
icon
- Click on the current name of the chat (My Notes) next to the Pen
- Type in a new name for your notes
- Click on the Checkmark
to confirm
Phone
To open your notes chat:
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on Chats
Your Notes will always be pinned to the top of your chat screen.
OR
If you delete the notes chat, follow these steps:
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap More
- Tap My Notes
Desktop
To open your notes chat:
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on your profile picture next to the Search
field
- Click on My Notes
OR
You can add your notes to your Favorites list:
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Right-click on your notes chat or search for it by clicking the Plus
in the favorites panel
Android
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on Chats
- Tap on My Notes
- Tap on the Search
icon
- Type in the phrase you’re looking for
- Tap the Search
icon
- Use the arrows to scroll through your notes and find all mentions of the phrase you searched for
- Tap Back
to exit out of the search
iOS
On iOS devices, you will only see the last time that the phrase you searched for was used in your notes.
To find a phrase:
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on Chats
- Swipe down to reveal the Search bar
- Type in the phrase you’re looking for
- Tap Messages
- Scroll through the results until you find My Notes. You may need to tap View more to generate more search results
Desktop
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on your profile picture next to the Search
field
- Click on My Notes
- Click on the Search
field
- Type in the phrase you’re looking for
- Use the arrows to scroll through your notes and find all mentions of the phrase you searched for
Reminders
Add a reminder to your notes. Once the reminder is set, you will see the date (or time, if it’s for today) of the reminder underneath the note.
Phone
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on Chats
- Tap on My Notes
- Long tap on a note for which you want to set a reminder
- Tap Set reminder
- Select the date and time of the reminder
- Select how often you want the reminder to be repeated*
- Tap Save (Android) or Set (iOS)
*Does not repeat / never (the reminder is shown only once):
- Daily
- Weekly
- Monthly
Desktop
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on your profile picture next to the Search
field
- Click on My Notes
- Right-click on a note for which you want to set a reminder
- Click Set reminder
- Select the date and time of the reminder
- Under Repeat, how often do you want the reminder to be repeated*
- Click Save to set the reminder
*Does not repeat / never (the reminder is shown only once)
- Daily
- Weekly
- Monthly
- If a note with a reminder is completed before its scheduled date, the reminder will still be sent
- Reminders won’t be sent for deleted notes
To edit a scheduled reminder:
Phone
- Open Viber on your phone
- Click on My Notes
- Tap on the Scheduled reminder or long-tap on a note* that you set a reminder for
- Tap Edit reminder
- Select the new date / time OR tap Delete to delete the reminder
- Tap Save (Android) or Set (iOS)
Desktop
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on your profile picture next to the Search
field
- Click on My Notes
- Right-click on the Scheduled reminder or a note* that you set a reminder for
- Click Edit reminder
- Select the new date / time OR tap Delete to delete the reminder
- Click Save
*You can also find your notes with reminders in the Reminders list (not available on iOS).
Pending reminders (overdue reminders) will be shown in the Reminders list.
To open the reminders list:
Android
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on My Notes
- Tap on the Reminders list
icon at the top of the chat screen
- Tap the Back arrow
to return to the main notes screen
iOS
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on My Notes
- Tap Pending reminders at the top of the chat screen
- Tap All to return to the main notes screen
Desktop
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on your profile picture next to the Search
field
- Click on My Notes
- Click on the Reminders list
icon at the top of the chat screen
- Tap the Back arrow
to return to the main notes screen
Recurring reminders will only appear once on the list. To edit a future reminder, click on the Pen next to the note.
If you no longer need a pending reminder on your list, click on the Calendar icon next to it.
To delete all pending reminders:
Phone: Tap on the three dots at the top of the screen and select Dismiss all.
Desktop: Click on Dismiss all pending reminders at the bottom of the screen.
When your reminder is due, you will receive notifications on all your devices: a sound (like an incoming Viber message), a notification on your screen, and an unread number badge on your notes chat.
The unread number badge will remain until the note is dismissed from the Reminders list, even if you have opened and viewed the note.
Check your notification settings if you’re not receiving reminders. All notification settings should be switched to ON.
Check off, hide, and delete notes
Every note will have a Checkbox next to it. Tap / click on the checkbox to mark the note as complete and cross it off in your chat.
As the notes aren’t deleted, just hidden, relevant text will still appear in search results, and media files will remain available in the media folder (on your phone).
Hide checked off notes
To hide completed notes (per device):
Phone
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on Chats
- Tap on My Notes
- Tap the three dots
and then Chat info
(Android) or My notes (iOS) at the top of the screen
- Switch the Hide completed notes toggle ON
Desktop
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on your profile picture next to the Search
field
- Click on My Notes
- Click on the Info
icon
- Switch the Hide completed notes toggle ON
If you want to permanently delete a note (or remove a media file from your notes chat), long-tap / right-click on the note and select Delete.
If you can still see the note in your chat, tap / click on the Checkmark next to it to mark it as incomplete again.
If you have the Hide completed notes switch toggled ON, you will first need to toggle it OFF to display all your completed notes, and then you can mark your note as incomplete.
To permanently delete the notes chat:
Phone
- Open Viber on your phone
- Tap on Chats
- Tap on My Notes
- Tap the three dots (Android) and then Chat info
OR My notes (iOS) at the top of the screen
- Tap on Delete all notes
- Confirm OR if you change your mind, tap Cancel
Desktop
- Open Viber on your desktop
- Click on your profile picture next to the Search
field
- Click on My Notes
- Click on the Info
icon
- Click Delete
- Confirm OR if you change your mind, click Cancel
If you want to start making notes again, look for My Notes in the menu under your profile picture.